Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Jump to main content
Turn on/off screen reader friendly version
Practical information from public agencies
Print page

Democracy and elections

  • Political geography »

    Norway is a unitary state consisting of 19 counties and two special status areas, the islands of Svalbard and Jan Mayen. The counties are divided into 430 municipalities. The largest municipality i...

  • Elections »

    Norway has two types of elections. General elections – held every four years. Everyone who reaches the age of 18 in the election year and has Norwegian citizenship can vote in a general election...