Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Jump to main content
Turn on/off screen reader friendly version
Practical information from public agencies
Print page

Official languages

Norwegian (bokmål and nynorsk) is the official administrative language in Norway. Sami has equal standing with Norwegian in some municipalities in the counties of Troms and Finnmark. In Norway, dialects have a much higher status than in many other countries. There is no standard spoken language, and most people speak dialect in both private and public contexts. Using dialect is accepted on television, on the radio and in political life. The dialects vary as regards pronunciation, grammar and vocabulary, but they are largely mutually understandable.

Other articles under Language and the right to an interpreter

Tip a friend

Tip a friend about this page by email

Related articles